丹尼尔·里克特 丹尼尔·里克特

丹尼尔·里克特

德國
生于1962年
/

Overview

我发现艺术品,尤其是绘画,当它们试图向观众传达一些难以言喻,甚或难以用理性解释的事物时最为有趣。当艺术实现了它的承诺,它将我们内心某处扩展,提供真理 ── 无论它建立了什么。

德国艺术家丹尼尔·里克特(Daniel Richter)于90年代崭露头角,当时他从音乐世界转至艺术发展,展开为乐队设计海报及唱片封套的创作生涯。他早期绘画偏向抽象,色彩大胆强烈,构图游走于涂鸦与精致的迷幻纹饰之间。大概于2002年初,他在报纸或历史书籍复制品的启发下,画作中开始出现不同人形轮廓,在明亮色彩的粉刷下,创造出一种意识流及超现实的氛围。作为一名革新者,他近年的作品迈向具象与抽象之间,往往会在简化的彩色背景下,呈现支离破碎的人物乱缠彼此。

在詹姆斯·恩索尔(James Ensor)和爱德华·孟克(Edvard Munch)等象征主义艺术家(Symbolists)的影响下,里克特将艺术史、大众媒体以及流行文化主题结合,创造出奇特、超现实的世界。这些作品有时可从政治角度解读,比如涉及移民或监控等主题,但它们避开任何单一的诠释。他使用丰富的色彩对比以及抽象图案,传达出令人不安的情绪基调,并透过逐渐增强场景中时间及空间的不确定性,拒绝形成连贯的时间、地点,甚或是具体的图像空间。如是者,他轮廓状的色域亦令人联想起地图册上的地图,却不对应任何特定区域。艺术家将其形容为 “包围,一种压迫、缠绕、挤压”,传达强烈对抗以及流动的意识。

 

德国艺术家丹尼尔·里克特(Daniel Richter)于90年代崭露头角,当时他从音乐世界转至艺术发展,展开为乐队设计海报及唱片封套的创作生涯。他早期绘画偏向抽象,色彩大胆强烈,构图游走于涂鸦与精致的迷幻纹饰之间。大概于2002年初,他在报纸或历史书籍复制品的启发下,画作中开始出现不同人形轮廓,在明亮色彩的粉刷下,创造出一种意识流及超现实的氛围。作为一名革新者,他近年的作品迈向具象与抽象之间,往往会在简化的彩色背景下,呈现支离破碎的人物乱缠彼此。

在詹姆斯·恩索尔(James Ensor)和爱德华·孟克(Edvard Munch)等象征主义艺术家(Symbolists)的影响下,里克特将艺术史、大众媒体以及流行文化主题结合,创造出奇特、超现实的世界。这些作品有时可从政治角度解读,比如涉及移民或监控等主题,但它们避开任何单一的诠释。他使用丰富的色彩对比以及抽象图案,传达出令人不安的情绪基调,并透过逐渐增强场景中时间及空间的不确定性,拒绝形成连贯的时间、地点,甚或是具体的图像空间。如是者,他轮廓状的色域亦令人联想起地图册上的地图,却不对应任何特定区域。艺术家将其形容为 “包围,一种压迫、缠绕、挤压”,传达强烈对抗以及流动的意识。

在里克特近期的大型绘画中,人形轮廓与扁平的渐变色彩互相对抗,让人联想到丰富多彩的奇幻风景,却去除一切让人辨认或理解空间背景的元素。正如他解释,「我关注的是表面,这个扁平、错综复杂、永恒不变的人物形象,进进出出。」他以黑色油画棒勾勒出富有表现力的轮廓,展开的四肢与张开的嘴巴,传达出对肉体激烈的欲望,在里克特大胆运用的对比色下,显得越加猛烈。 「我作品的生命力主要来自相互推撞,或是相互抗衡的元素 —— 交融、推、拉,」他说。虽然潜藏暴力,但这些作品传达了动人的的感性和美感,中和了当中躁动的能量。

里克特生于石勒苏益格-荷尔斯泰因的奥伊廷,并于柏林生活及工作。 1992至96年,修读于汉堡美术学院(Hochschule für bildende Künste, Hamburg),师从维尔纳·巴特纳(Werner Büttner)-于80年代与马丁·基彭贝尔格(Martin Kippenberger)同为表现主义绘画趋势复兴的先锋-后来担任阿尔伯特·厄伦(Albert Oehlen)的助理。他曾于多个大型艺术机构举办全面的个展,包括基尔艺术馆(Kunsthalle zu Kiel)及杜塞道夫的北莱茵-威斯特法伦艺术品珍藏馆(Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf)(均为2001年)、渥太华加拿大国立美术馆(National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa)(2005年)、汉堡美术馆(Hamburger Kunsthalle)及海牙美术馆(Kunstmuseum Den Haag)(均为2007年)、马拉加当代艺术中心(CAC Málaga)及丹佛艺术博物馆(Denver Art Museum)(均为2008年)以及汉诺威凯斯特纳协会展览馆(Kestner Gesellschaft, Hanover)(2011年)。近年,法兰克福席恩美术馆(Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt)为艺术家举办了大型回顾展(2014年),而专题展览则于伦敦卡姆登艺术中心(Camden Art Centre, London)、维也纳美景宫21现代美术馆(21er Haus, Vienna)和丹麦胡姆勒拜克路易斯安那现代艺术博物馆(Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Humlebæk, Denmark)(2016-17)巡回展出。 2020年,里克特的作品于伦敦白教堂美术馆(Whitechapel Gallery, London) 「激进画像:新千禧年时代的绘画」(Radical Figures: Painting in the New Millennium)群展中展出。

视频

Play
Pause
Daniel Richter Furor I
Furor I
Play
Pause
Daniel Richter So Long, Daddy.
So Long, Daddy.
Play
Pause
Daniel Richter Le Freak
Le Freak
Play
Pause
Daniel Richter Half-Naked Truth
Half-Naked Truth
Play
Pause
Daniel Richter Voyage, Voyage
Voyage, Voyage
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Eurasia. A View on Painting
Eurasia. A View on Painting
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition 30 JAHRE / 30 YEARS
30 JAHRE / 30 YEARS
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Disaster: The End of Days
Disaster: The End of Days

出版

Daniel Richter Limbo

Daniel Richter

Limbo
2022
Daniel Richter: Limbo
€ 45.00
Daniel Richter Furor I

Daniel Richter

Furor I
2021
Daniel Richter: Furor I
€ 30.00

新闻和媒体

新闻和媒体

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image

Daniel Richter Daniel Richter

Daniel Richter

German
b. 1962
/

Overview

'I find artworks, especially paintings, most interesting when they seek to convey something to the viewer that is not entirely translatable through language, or even reason. When art fulfils its promise, it expands something within us, and it offers some kind of truth – whatever construction that may be.'

The German artist Daniel Richter first came to prominence in the 1990s when he transitioned into fine art from the world of music, where he began his career designing posters and record sleeves for bands. His early paintings were abstract, characterised by intensely colourful forms that lie somewhere between graffiti and intricate ornamentation. Figures began appearing in his works around 2002, often inspired by reproductions from newspapers or history books and rendered in bright colours that create an atmosphere of heightened awareness and artificiality. Ever the innovator, his recent works tread a path between figuration and abstraction, typified by the chaotic entanglements of fragmented bodies against simplified chromatic backgrounds.

Influenced by the legacy of Symbolists such as James Ensor and Edvard Munch, Richter combines motifs from art history, mass media and pop culture to create idiosyncratic, surreal worlds. These can sometimes be read in political terms, as in works that reference themes of immigration or surveillance, but they evade any single interpretation. He uses vivid chromatic contrasts and abstracted patterning to convey a disquieting emotional tenor, heightened by the temporal and spatial indeterminacy of scenes that refuse to resolve into a coherent time, place, or even pictorial space. The same is true of his contoured colour fields, which are reminiscent of maps in an atlas but do not correspond to any specific region. The artist describes them as an 'encirclement, a sort of pressing, entwining, squeezing', which conveys a strong sense of confrontation and flux.

The German artist Daniel Richter first came to prominence in the 1990s when he transitioned into fine art from the world of music, where he began his career designing posters and record sleeves for bands. His early paintings were abstract, characterised by intensely colourful forms that lie somewhere between graffiti and intricate ornamentation. Figures began appearing in his works around 2002, often inspired by reproductions from newspapers or history books and rendered in bright colours that create an atmosphere of heightened awareness and artificiality. Ever the innovator, his recent works tread a path between figuration and abstraction, typified by the chaotic entanglements of fragmented bodies against simplified chromatic backgrounds.

Influenced by the legacy of Symbolists such as James Ensor and Edvard Munch, Richter combines motifs from art history, mass media and pop culture to create idiosyncratic, surreal worlds. These can sometimes be read in political terms, as in works that reference themes of immigration or surveillance, but they evade any single interpretation. He uses vivid chromatic contrasts and abstracted patterning to convey a disquieting emotional tenor, heightened by the temporal and spatial indeterminacy of scenes that refuse to resolve into a coherent time, place, or even pictorial space. The same is true of his contoured colour fields, which are reminiscent of maps in an atlas but do not correspond to any specific region. The artist describes them as an 'encirclement, a sort of pressing, entwining, squeezing', which conveys a strong sense of confrontation and flux.

In Richter's recent large-scale canvases, anthropomorphic figures are set against flat gradations of colour that recall polychromatic fantasy landscapes but evade spatial orientation or understanding. As he explains, 'My concern is with the surface, this flat, tangled, never-changing scheme of figure constellations, in and out.' Outlined expressively in black oil stick, the splayed limbs and gaping mouths convey an aggressive carnality that is heightened by Richter's bold use of contrasting colour. 'The dynamic in my work is mainly based on pushing and shoving, or on elements that are being confronted by each other – mingling, pushing, pulling,' he says. Despite the underlying violence, the works convey a touching sensuality and beauty that counterbalances their restless energy.

Born in Eutin, Schleswig-Holstein, Richter lives and works in Berlin. He studied at the Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg from 1992–96 under Werner Büttner – one of the protagonists, along with Martin Kippenberger, of the revival of expressive trends in painting during the 1980s – and later worked as assistant to Albert Oehlen. Comprehensive solo exhibitions of his work have been held at the Kunsthalle zu Kiel and Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf (both 2001); National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa (2005); Hamburger Kunsthalle and Kunstmuseum Den Haag (both 2007); CAC Málaga and Denver Art Museum (both 2008); and Kestner Gesellschaft, Hanover (2011). More recently, the Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt hosted a retrospective (2014), while a monographic exhibition travelled to Camden Art Centre, London; 21er Haus, Vienna; and Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Humlebæk, Denmark (2016–17). Richter's work was also shown in the group exhibition Radical Figures: Painting in the New Millennium at the Whitechapel Gallery, London, in 2020.

Videos

Play
Pause
Daniel Richter So Long, Daddy.
So Long, Daddy.
Play
Pause
Daniel Richter Le Freak
Le Freak
Play
Pause
Daniel Richter Half-Naked Truth
Half-Naked Truth
Play
Pause
Daniel Richter Voyage, Voyage
Voyage, Voyage
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Eurasia. A View on Painting
Eurasia. A View on Painting
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition 30 JAHRE / 30 YEARS
30 JAHRE / 30 YEARS
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Disaster: The End of Days
Disaster: The End of Days

News and Press

News and Press

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image