阿尔瓦罗·巴林顿

阿尔瓦罗·巴林顿

委内瑞拉
生于1983年
/

Overview

“当你观看我的画作时,你会面对有关我身份的一些部分。我在一种与消除等级阶层紧密相关的文化环境中长大,在这里我们都会切身参与着文化的产生。”

阿尔瓦罗·巴林顿(Alvaro Barrington)生于委内瑞拉,父母是格林纳达和海地的移民工人,巴林顿由居住在加勒比海地区和纽约布鲁克林的亲戚们共同抚养长大。对族群的坚定承诺为他广泛的艺术实践打下了基础。巴林顿自认为自己首先是一名画家,但他的艺术合作项目包括展览、行为艺术表演、音乐会、时尚、慈善事业,以及对伦敦诺丁山狂欢节(Notting Hill Carnival)的贡献。他的绘画方法也同样地具有包容性,使用非传统的材料与技术(麻布和缝纫),并与自身文化历史相结合。

巴林顿的绘画风格借鉴了早期与祖母在格林纳达生活的经历,他将在加勒比地区常用于生产可可的麻布纸用来创作自己那些肌理丰富的混合媒体画作。艺术家在油画和明信片中使用的缝合纱技术来自于他的家庭中只能由女性传承的手工艺传统。他感性的构图常以独特的红、棕、黄、绿来呈现,且专注于对单一主题的特写:热带植被、抽象肖像和身体部位。诸如芙蓉花(hibiscus,牙买加的国花)等反复出现的图案让人联想到加勒比海岸不复存在的浪漫主义景象。

 

阿尔瓦罗·巴林顿(Alvaro Barrington)生于委内瑞拉,父母是格林纳达和海地的移民工人,巴林顿由居住在加勒比海地区和纽约布鲁克林的亲戚们共同抚养长大。对族群的坚定承诺为他广泛的艺术实践打下了基础。巴林顿自认为自己首先是一名画家,但他的艺术合作项目包括展览、行为艺术表演、音乐会、时尚、慈善事业,以及对伦敦诺丁山狂欢节(Notting Hill Carnival)的贡献。他的绘画方法也同样地具有包容性,使用非传统的材料与技术(麻布和缝纫),并与自身文化历史相结合。

巴林顿的绘画风格借鉴了早期与祖母在格林纳达生活的经历,他将在加勒比地区常用于生产可可的麻布纸用来创作自己那些肌理丰富的混合媒体画作。艺术家在油画和明信片中使用的缝合纱技术来自于他的家庭中只能由女性传承的手工艺传统。他感性的构图常以独特的红、棕、黄、绿来呈现,且专注于对单一主题的特写:热带植被、抽象肖像和身体部位。诸如芙蓉花(hibiscus,牙买加的国花)等反复出现的图案让人联想到加勒比海岸不复存在的浪漫主义景象。

各种影响和文化交流是巴林顿艺术作品中不可或缺的一部分。他常提到的灵感试金石包括说唱歌手图派克(Tupac)、九十年代嘻哈文化、爵士与二十年代的哈莱姆文艺复兴(Harlem Renaissance)、牙买加政治活动家马库斯·加维(Marcus Garvey)、现代主义偶像威廉·德·库宁(Willem de Kooning)和路易丝·布尔乔亚(Louise Bourgeois),以及他的众多艺术同行们。在他最近的《日期绘画》(Date Paintings)系列中,巴林顿从前辈们的作品中思考了抽象的不同方法,包括保罗·克利(Paul Klee)、阿格尼丝·马丁(Agnes Martin)和马克·罗斯科(Mark Rothko)。通过在这些艺术家们的作品中发现的“逻辑”,巴林顿用简化的调色板、网格和强烈大胆的笔触将其成功转化为自己的惯用语。

巴林顿由纽约亨特学院(Hunter College)及伦敦斯莱德美术学院(The Slade School of Fine Art)毕业,期间积极参与各种社群活动,并与2019年毕业后在斯莱德美术学院任教。2017年,在他毕业之际,他的首次个展在纽约皇后区MoMA PS1展出,由克劳斯·比森巴赫(Klaus Biesenbach)策划。此后,他的作品不断在众多个人和团体展览中展出,包括伦敦 Thaddaeus Ropac 画廊的「巧克力之味」(A Taste of Chocolate)(2018年),以及他与画家特蕾莎·法瑞尔(Teresa Farrell)持续进行的「Tt x AB」合作项目。巴林顿与茱莉娅·佩顿·琼斯(Julia Peyton-Jones)于2019年在伦敦 Thaddaeus Ropac 画廊共同策划了展览「我偷师的艺术家」(Artists I Steal From)。

视频

Play
Pause
Alvaro Barrington La Vie en Rose
La Vie en Rose
Play
Pause
Alvaro Barrington You don't do it for the man, men never notice. You just do it for yourself, you're the...
You don't do it for the man, men never notice.
You just do it for yourself, you're the fucking coldest
Play
Pause
Alvaro Barrington reflects on Robert Rauschenberg
Play
Pause
A Focus on Painting Alvaro Barrington
Alvaro Barrington
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Artists I Steal From
Artists I Steal From
Play
Pause
A Focus on Painting with Katy Hessel
with Katy Hessel
Play
Pause
Frieze Talk | Painting Today Alvaro Barrington, Mandy El-Sayegh, Rachel Jones and Dona Nelson, chaired by Julia Peyton-Jones
Alvaro Barrington, Mandy El-Sayegh, Rachel Jones and Dona Nelson, chaired by Julia Peyton-Jones
Play
Pause
Artist's Eye Alvaro Barrington
Alvaro Barrington

作品

新闻和媒体

新闻和媒体

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image

Alvaro Barrington

Alvaro Barrington

Venezuelan
b. 1983
/

Overview

'When you look at my paintings, you’re encountering parts of my identity. I grew up in a culture where it was really about erasing hierarchies, where we’re all participating in cultural production.'

Born in Venezuela to Grenadian and Haitian migrant workers, Alvaro Barrington was raised between the Caribbean and Brooklyn, New York, by a network of relatives. An unwavering commitment to community informs his wide-ranging practice. While Barrington considers himself primarily a painter, his artistic collaborations encompass exhibitions, performances, concerts, fashion, philanthropy and contributions to the Notting Hill Carnival in London. His approach to painting is similarly inclusive – embracing non-traditional materials and techniques such as burlap and sewing – and infused with references to his personal and cultural history.

Drawing on formative experiences with his grandmother in Grenada, Barrington creates richly textural mixed-media paintings on the burlap fabric used in Caribbean cacao production. The artist’s use of stitched yarn in paintings and postcards draws upon the traditionally gendered craft traditions passed down by the women in his family. His intimate compositions, rendered in a distinctive palette of reds, browns, yellows and greens, often focus on single subjects in close-up: tropical vegetation, abstracted portraits and body parts. Recurring motifs such as the hibiscus, the national flower of Jamaica, conjure a romanticised view of the Caribbean that no longer exists except in memory.

Born in Venezuela to Grenadian and Haitian migrant workers, Alvaro Barrington was raised between the Caribbean and Brooklyn, New York, by a network of relatives. An unwavering commitment to community informs his wide-ranging practice. While Barrington considers himself primarily a painter, his artistic collaborations encompass exhibitions, performances, concerts, fashion, philanthropy and contributions to the Notting Hill Carnival in London. His approach to painting is similarly inclusive – embracing non-traditional materials and techniques such as burlap and sewing – and infused with references to his personal and cultural history. 

Drawing on formative experiences with his grandmother in Grenada, Barrington creates richly textural mixed-media paintings on the burlap fabric used in Caribbean cacao production. The artist’s use of stitched yarn in paintings and postcards draws upon the traditionally gendered craft traditions passed down by the women in his family. His intimate compositions, rendered in a distinctive palette of reds, browns, yellows and greens, often focus on single subjects in close-up: tropical vegetation, abstracted portraits and body parts. Recurring motifs such as the hibiscus, the national flower of Jamaica, conjure a romanticised view of the Caribbean that no longer exists except in memory. 

Influence and exchange are integral to Barrington’s work. He references personal touchstones including rapper Tupac and 90s hip-hop culture, jazz and the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, Jamaican political activist Marcus Garvey, modernist icons such as Willem de Kooning and Louise Bourgeois, and his art-world peers. In his recent, small-scale Date Paintings, Barrington considers different approaches to abstraction through the work of his predecessors including Paul Klee, Agnes Martin and Mark Rothko. Experimenting with the ‘logic’ found within these other artists’ work, Barrington translates it into his own idiom through simplified palettes, grid forms and expressive, bold brushstrokes. 

Barrington, who has been involved in community activism, studied at Hunter College, New York, and The Slade School of Fine Art in London, where he started lecturing in 2019. His first solo exhibition, which opened the same year he graduated, was curated by Klaus Biesenbach at MoMA PS1, Queens, in 2017. His work has since been shown in numerous solo and group shows, including Mixing It Up: Painting Today at the Hayward Gallery, London (2021), A Taste of Chocolate at Thaddaeus Ropac, London (2018) and his ongoing Tt x AB collaboration with the painter Teresa Farrell. Barrington co-curated the exhibition Artists I Steal From with Julia Peyton-Jones at Thaddaeus Ropac, London in 2019, followed by his solo exhibition You don’t do it for the man, men never notice. You just do it for yourself, you're the fucking coldest at our Paris Marais gallery in 2021.

Videos

Play
Pause
Alvaro Barrington You don't do it for the man, men never notice. You just do it for yourself, you're the...
You don't do it for the man, men never notice.
You just do it for yourself, you're the fucking coldest
Play
Pause
Alvaro Barrington; A Focus in Painting at Thaddaeus Ropac London Ely House (2020)
Alvaro Barrington
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Artists I Steal From
Artists I Steal From
Play
Pause
A Focus on Painting with Katy Hessel
with Katy Hessel
Play
Pause
Frieze Talk | Painting Today Alvaro Barrington, Mandy El-Sayegh, Rachel Jones and Dona Nelson, chaired by Julia Peyton-Jones
Alvaro Barrington, Mandy El-Sayegh, Rachel Jones and Dona Nelson, chaired by Julia Peyton-Jones
Play
Pause
Artist's Eye Alvaro Barrington
Alvaro Barrington

Publications

News and Press

News and Press

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image