哈伦·法罗基 艺术家遗产 哈伦·法罗基 艺术家遗产

哈伦·法罗基 艺术家遗产

德国
生于1944年—卒於2014年
/

Overview

“现今从事电影工作的人必须发掘一个未被图像和文字机械化的领域。”

 

 

德国电影制作人、录像艺术家、理论家及作家哈伦‧法罗基(Harun Farocki)以其政治性的论文电影(film-essays)而闻名,在这些作品中,他结合现成及原创片段,探索各种议题,例如影像的影响力、战争与科技的交织,及劳动力在资本社会中扮演的角色。他拥有戏剧、社会学及新闻学背景,亦受到贝托尔特·布莱希特(Bertolt Brecht)及尚卢·高达(Jean-Luc Godard)作品的影响,于柏林德国电影电视学院(the German Film and Television Academy, Berlin)完成电影研究(1966年至1968年)。他除了制作超过100个电视节目和电影外,作为杂志《电影批评》(Filmkritik)的作者及编辑,以及柏克莱(Berkeley)、哈佛(Harvard)和维也纳大学(Vienna)的策展人及客座教授──塑造了围绕政治、流动影像及图像政治的对话。

在《眼睛/机器》(Eye / Machine )(2000年至2003年)及《严肃游戏》(Serious Games)(2009年至2010年)等作品中,科技和战争的交织是重要的主题,当中法罗基把作品题材与经济生产的状况连系。他认为 “人类施为” (human agency)在战争和工业范畴都逐渐被电脑取代,在这两个范畴下,视觉等本能都被机器替代。在他后来的作品,例如《与第三世界的比较》(Comparison via a Third)(2017年)及《再次灌注》(Re-Pouring)(2010年),亦可看到人类劳动力被机械取代的相似画面。在法罗基的电影中,他利用分割的萤幕装置、自然的蒙太奇及重复手法暗示图像之间的关系,但为观众留下诠释空间,邀请他们自行得出结论。

 

德国电影制作人、录像艺术家、理论家及作家哈伦‧法罗基(Harun Farocki)以其政治性的论文电影(film-essays)而闻名,在这些作品中,他结合现成及原创片段,探索各种议题,例如影像的影响力、战争与科技的交织,及劳动力在资本社会中扮演的角色。他拥有戏剧、社会学及新闻学背景,亦受到贝托尔特·布莱希特(Bertolt Brecht)及尚卢·高达(Jean-Luc Godard)作品的影响,于柏林德国电影电视学院(the German Film and Television Academy, Berlin)完成电影研究(1966年至1968年)。他除了制作超过100个电视节目和电影外,作为杂志《电影批评》(Filmkritik)的作者及编辑,以及柏克莱(Berkeley)、哈佛(Harvard)和维也纳大学(Vienna)的策展人及客座教授──塑造了围绕政治、流动影像及图像政治的对话。

在《眼睛/机器》(Eye / Machine )(2000年至2003年)及《严肃游戏》(Serious Games)(2009年至2010年)等作品中,科技和战争的交织是重要的主题,当中法罗基把作品题材与经济生产的状况连系。他认为 “人类施为” (human agency)在战争和工业范畴都逐渐被电脑取代,在这两个范畴下,视觉等本能都被机器替代。在他后来的作品,例如《与第三世界的比较》(Comparison via a Third)(2017年)及《再次灌注》(Re-Pouring)(2010年),亦可看到人类劳动力被机械取代的相似画面。在法罗基的电影中,他利用分割的萤幕装置、自然的蒙太奇及重复手法暗示图像之间的关系,但为观众留下诠释空间,邀请他们自行得出结论。

《单镜头下劳动者》(Labour in a Single Shot)(2011年起)是一个由法罗基及他的伴侣,策展人安缇杰·埃曼(Antje Ehmann)发起的长期计划,他们自1990年代末一起合作多个项目。参照卢米埃尔兄弟(Lumière brothers)的《离开工厂》(La Sortie de l'usine Lumière à Lyon)(1895年),一部展现工人离开里昂工厂的早期电影,法罗基及埃曼同样使用单镜头拍摄装置探索劳动主题。他们在四年间走访了15个主要城市,与当地的录像艺术家及导演制作超过400多部影片。将这些影片拼凑起来,可以视觉化21世纪工作的多样性和复杂性。

法罗基于1944年在新伊钦出生,该处位捷克共和国,当时被德国并吞。他在柏林生活及工作超过40年,在1960年代对政治电影的发展历史举足轻重。本画廊有幸与他合作超过10年,直至他于2014年离世,并继续宣扬他的艺术遗产。法罗基第一次为博物馆制作的电影《界面》(Schnittstelle)(1995年),标志了他创作生涯中的转捩点,而他的作品曾在多个大型展览中展出,包括里约热内卢莫雷拉·塞勒斯研究所(Instituto Moreira Salles, Rio de Janeiro)(2019年)、首尔国立现代美术馆(National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art Seoul )(2018年)、巴黎庞毕度中心(Centre Pompidou, Paris)(2017年)、柏林新柏林艺术协会(Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Berlin)(2017年)、巴塞安东尼塔皮埃斯基金会(Fundacío Antoni Tapìes, Barcelona)(2016年)、科隆路德维希博物馆(Museum Ludwig, Cologne)(2014年)、应布雷根茨美术馆(Kunsthaus Bregenz)(2010年)、伦敦泰德美术馆(Tate Modern, London)(2009年)及维也纳现代艺术博物馆(mumok, Vienna)(2007年)。

 

视频

Play
Pause
Harun Farocki & Hito Steyerl Life Captured Still
Life Captured Still
Play
Pause
Harun Farocki Parallele
Parallele
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Space Age
Space Age
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Disaster: The End of Days
Disaster: The End of Days

新闻和媒体

新闻和媒体

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image

Harun Farocki Estate Harun Farocki Estate

Harun Farocki Estate

German
1944—2014
/

Overview

'Those working in film today must look for an area that has not yet been neutralised by the machinery of images and words.'

The German filmmaker, video artist, theorist and writer Harun Farocki is known for his politicised film-essays, in which he assembles found and original footage to explore issues such as the power of images, the intersections between war and technology, and the role of labour in capitalist society. With a background in drama, sociology and journalism, and influenced by the work of Bertolt Brecht and Jean-Luc Godard, he completed film studies at the German Film and Television Academy, Berlin (1966–68). In addition to producing over 100 films for television and cinema, Farocki – an author, editor of the magazine Filmkritik, curator, and visiting professor at Berkeley, Harvard and Vienna – has shaped the discourse surrounding politics, the moving image, and the politics of images.

The intersections between technology and war played a decisive role in works such as Eye / Machine (2000–03) or Serious Games (2009–10), in which Farocki relates these to conditions of economic production. He sees human agency as increasingly replaced by computers in war and industry alike, with the natural functions of the eye being taken over by machines in both situations. A similar replacement of human labour by mechanical processes can be seen in his later works such as Comparison via a Third (2007) and Re-Pouring (2010). In his films, Farocki uses the devices of split-screen, soft montage and repetition to suggest relationships between images, but leaves these open to interpretation, inviting viewers to draw their own conclusions.

The German filmmaker, video artist, theorist and writer Harun Farocki is known for his politicised film-essays, in which he assembles found and original footage to explore issues such as the power of images, the intersections between war and technology, and the role of labour in capitalist society. With a background in drama, sociology and journalism, and influenced by the work of Bertolt Brecht and Jean-Luc Godard, he completed film studies at the German Film and Television Academy, Berlin (1966–68). In addition to producing over 100 films for television and cinema, Farocki – an author, editor of the magazine Filmkritik, curator, and visiting professor at Berkeley, Harvard and Vienna – has shaped the discourse surrounding politics, the moving image, and the politics of images.

The intersections between technology and war played a decisive role in works such as Eye / Machine (2000–03) or Serious Games (2009–10), in which Farocki relates these to conditions of economic production. He sees human agency as increasingly replaced by computers in war and industry alike, with the natural functions of the eye being taken over by machines in both situations. A similar replacement of human labour by mechanical processes can be seen in his later works such as Comparison via a Third (2007) and Re-Pouring (2010). In his films, Farocki uses the devices of split-screen, soft montage and repetition to suggest relationships between images, but leaves these open to interpretation, inviting viewers to draw their own conclusions.

The ongoing workshop Labour in a Single Shot (2011– ) was initiated by Farocki and his partner, curator Antje Ehmann, who collaborated on a number of projects since the late 1990s. Referencing the Lumière brothers' La Sortie de l'usine Lumière à Lyon (1895), an early film that shows workers leaving a factory in Lyon, they used the same device of a single camera shot to explore the subject of labour. Over the course of four years, they travelled to 15 major cities where they produced over 400 short films with local video artists and filmmakers. Together, this mosaic of films visualises work in the 21st century in all its variety and complexity. 

Farocki was born in 1944 in Neutitschein, an area in the Czech Republic that had been annexed by Germany at the time. He lived and worked in Berlin for over 40 years, decisively shaping the history of the political film since the 1960s. The gallery had the privilege of working with him for almost a decade before his death in 2014, and continues to foster his artistic legacy. Farocki's first film created for a museum setting, Schnittstelle (1995), marked a turning point in his career and his work has since been the subject of major institutional exhibitions, including at the Instituto Moreira Salles, Rio de Janeiro (2019); National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art Seoul (2018); Centre Pompidou, Paris (2017); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Berlin (2017); Fundacío Antoni Tapìes, Barcelona (2016); Museum Ludwig, Cologne (2014); Kunsthaus Bregenz (2010); Tate Modern, London (2009); and mumok, Vienna (2007), among others.

Videos

Play
Pause
Harun Farocki & Hito Steyerl Life Captured Still

Harun Farocki & Hito Steyerl

Life Captured Still
Play
Pause
Harun Farocki Parallele

Harun Farocki

Parallele
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Space Age

Group Exhibition

Space Age
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Disaster: The End of Days

Group Exhibition

Disaster: The End of Days

News and Press

News and Press

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Installation view of Yan Pei-Ming's Against the Light at Thaddaeus Ropac Salzburg Villa Kast Installation view of Yan Pei-Ming's Against the Light at Thaddaeus Ropac Salzburg Villa Kast
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image