大卫·萨利 大卫·萨利

大卫·萨利

美国
生于1952年
/

Overview

“有些画面可以揭示世界如何运作等深层次问题,它们好比进入意识的通道。绘画存在于当下,但不知怎地,因其建构方式,可以穿越时间回到过去。”

大卫·萨利将对比强烈的视觉元素并置,令画作与别不同,他从卡通图像、广告、涂鸦和艺术史等流行文化中挪用这些视觉元素。看似不相关的图像有如在虚拟空间中交错漂浮,透过以不同的表现风格组合,他把玩了观众的审美期望和视角。利用蒙太奇(montage)和叠加(superimposition)等电影技术,他创造了一个共时、平衡的世界,建立具戏剧性、甚至是荒谬的关系。艺术家反思了媒体主导的世界不断输入图像和想法的现象,如何成为集体意识的一部分,反过来影响我们的自我意识。

对萨勒来说,绘画 ── 好比语言或诗歌,强调对比元素的平衡: “压缩、并列、共时、对封闭的抵抗、不和谐[......] 任意地使用令人感到惊讶与突兀的过渡和并列方式。它试图将整个情感和复杂的经验,提炼成反映真相的细节和的细致碎片,继而代替整体。他的作品包含了对波普艺术(Pop art)、超现实主义(Surrealism)和抽象表现主义(Abstract Expressionism)以及1950年代和60年代的卡通的暗示,他的作品结合了各种图像和形态上的特质。作品的万花筒效果亦看似反映了不断同时涌现的思想、感情和视觉,对当代生活和绘画自身的地位,构成一种幽默甚至讽刺的评论。

 

大卫·萨利将对比强烈的视觉元素并置,令画作与别不同,他从卡通图像、广告、涂鸦和艺术史等流行文化中挪用这些视觉元素。看似不相关的图像有如在虚拟空间中交错漂浮,透过以不同的表现风格组合,他把玩了观众的审美期望和视角。利用蒙太奇(montage)和叠加(superimposition)等电影技术,他创造了一个共时、平衡的世界,建立具戏剧性、甚至是荒谬的关系。艺术家反思了媒体主导的世界不断输入图像和想法的现象,如何成为集体意识的一部分,反过来影响我们的自我意识。

对萨勒来说,绘画 ── 好比语言或诗歌,强调对比元素的平衡: “压缩、并列、共时、对封闭的抵抗、不和谐[......] 任意地使用令人感到惊讶与突兀的过渡和并列方式。它试图将整个情感和复杂的经验,提炼成反映真相的细节和的细致碎片,继而代替整体。他的作品包含了对波普艺术(Pop art)、超现实主义(Surrealism)和抽象表现主义(Abstract Expressionism)以及1950年代和60年代的卡通的暗示,他的作品结合了各种图像和形态上的特质。作品的万花筒效果亦看似反映了不断同时涌现的思想、感情和视觉,对当代生活和绘画自身的地位,构成一种幽默甚至讽刺的评论。

萨勒1952年出生于俄克拉荷马州的诺曼,在纽约的布鲁克林生活和工作。 1970-75年,他修读加州艺术学院(California Institute of the Arts),并获得概念艺术家约翰·巴尔代萨里(John Baldessari)指导,亦于当时首次对电影和蒙太奇产生强烈兴趣,从他最早期的作品中可见一斑。 1980年代,他作为 “图像世代” (Pictures Generation)的领军人物,开始崭露头角,透过挪用和探索大众媒体,对图像的地位提出质疑。萨勒首次博物馆个展1983年于鹿特丹博伊曼斯·范伯宁恩美术馆(Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam)举行,他首次回顾展随后于1999年在阿姆斯特丹市立博物馆(Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam)举行,其后巡回至维也纳的路德维希现代艺术博物馆(Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien, Vienna)、意大利都灵的沃利城堡当代艺术博物馆(Castello di Rivoli Museo d'Arte Contemporanea, Turin, Italy)和西班牙的毕尔包古根汉美术馆(Guggenheim Bilbao, Spain)举行。此后,他的作品在纽约的现代艺术博物馆(The Museum of Modern Art)、大都会艺术博物馆(Metropolitan Museum of Art)和惠特尼美国艺术博物馆(Whitney Museum of American Art in New York)以及洛杉矶郡立艺术馆(Los Angeles County Museum of Art)等机构展出。 2016年,他在马拉加当代艺术中心(Centro de Arte Contemporáneo de Málaga)举办个展。萨勒也是一名多产的作家和评论家,他的文章和采访发表在《艺术论坛》(Artforum)、《美国艺术》(Art in America)、《现代画家》(Modern Painters)、《巴黎评论》(The Paris Review)和《纽约书评》(The New York Review of Books),以及众多展览目录和文集中。他的评论集《怎样看》(How to see)2016年由W·W·诺顿(W. W. Norton)出版。

 

视频

Play
Pause
Virtual Tour David Salle and Julia Peyton-Jones
David Salle and Julia Peyton-Jones
Play
Pause
Artist's Eye David Salle
David Salle
Play
Pause
David Salle New Paintings
New Paintings
Play
Pause
David Salle / Francis Picabia

出版

David Salle / Francis Picabia

David Salle / Francis Picabia

2013
David Salle / Francis Picabia
€ 10.00
David Salle Paris Opera Paintings

David Salle

Paris Opera Paintings
2004
David Salle: Paris Opera Paintings
€ 15.00

新闻和媒体

新闻和媒体

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image

David Salle David Salle

David Salle

American
b. 1952
/

Overview

'Some images reveal something deep about how the world works; it seems as though they can access how consciousness is structured. Paintings exist in the present tense, yet somehow, because of how they are structured, can move backwards through time as well.'

David Salle's paintings are immediately recognisable for their juxtaposition of contrasting visual elements that he appropriates from popular culture, spanning cartoon imagery, advertising, graffiti and the history of art. By combining seemingly unrelated images in diverse representational styles that seem to float past one another in virtual space, he plays with viewers' aesthetic expectations and sense of perspective. Using cinematic techniques such as montage and superimposition, he creates a world of simultaneity and equilibrium that establishes dynamic and even absurd relationships. The artist reflects on the constant input of images and ideas from the media-dominated world, which become part of the collective consciousness and, in turn, influence our own sense of self.

For Salle, painting – like language or poetry – emphasises the counterbalancing of contrasting elements: 'compression, juxtaposition, simultaneity, resistance to closure, dissonance [...] It makes free use of surprising and abrupt transitions and juxtapositions. It seeks to distil entire blocks of emotion and complex experiences into the telling detail, the closely observed fragment that stands in for the whole.' Containing allusions to Pop art, Surrealism and Abstract Expressionism, as well as cartoons from the 1950s and 1960s, his works combine various iconographies and formal qualities. Their kaleidoscopic effects seem to reflect a constant stream of simultaneous thoughts, feelings and visuals, constituting a humorous and even ironic commentary on contemporary life and the status of painting itself.

David Salle's paintings are immediately recognisable for their juxtaposition of contrasting visual elements that he appropriates from popular culture, spanning cartoon imagery, advertising, graffiti and the history of art. By combining seemingly unrelated images in diverse representational styles that seem to float past one another in virtual space, he plays with viewers' aesthetic expectations and sense of perspective. Using cinematic techniques such as montage and superimposition, he creates a world of simultaneity and equilibrium that establishes dynamic and even absurd relationships. The artist reflects on the constant input of images and ideas from the media-dominated world, which become part of the collective consciousness and, in turn, influence our own sense of self.

For Salle, painting – like language or poetry – emphasises the counterbalancing of contrasting elements: 'compression, juxtaposition, simultaneity, resistance to closure, dissonance [...] It makes free use of surprising and abrupt transitions and juxtapositions. It seeks to distil entire blocks of emotion and complex experiences into the telling detail, the closely observed fragment that stands in for the whole.' Containing allusions to Pop art, Surrealism and Abstract Expressionism, as well as cartoons from the 1950s and 1960s, his works combine various iconographies and formal qualities. Their kaleidoscopic effects seem to reflect a constant stream of simultaneous thoughts, feelings and visuals, constituting a humorous and even ironic commentary on contemporary life and the status of painting itself.  

Born in 1952 in Norman, Oklahoma, Salle lives and works in Brooklyn, New York. He studied at the California Institute of the Arts from 1970–75, where he was mentored by Conceptual artist John Baldessari. It was there that he first developed a strong interest in cinema and montage, as reflected in his earliest works. He came to prominence in the 1980s as a leading figure of the Pictures Generation, who questioned the status of the image through appropriation and the exploration of mass media. Salle's first solo museum exhibition was at the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam in 1983, followed by his first retrospective in 1999 at the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, which travelled to the Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien, Vienna; Castello di Rivoli Museo d'Arte Contemporanea, Turin, Italy; and Guggenheim Bilbao, Spain. His work has since been shown at institutions including The Museum of Modern Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, among others. In 2016, a solo exhibition was held at the Centro de Arte Contemporáneo de Málaga. Salle is also a prolific writer and critic whose essays and interviews have been published in Artforum, Art in America, Modern Painters, The Paris Review and The New York Review of Books, as well as in numerous exhibition catalogues and anthologies. His collection of critical essays, How to see, was published by W. W. Norton in 2016.

Videos

Play
Pause
Virtual Tour David Salle and Julia Peyton-Jones
David Salle and Julia Peyton-Jones
Play
Pause
Artist's Eye David Salle
David Salle
Play
Pause
David Salle New Paintings
New Paintings
Play
Pause
David Salle / Francis Picabia

Publications

David Salle / Francis Picabia

David Salle / Francis Picabia

2013
David Salle / Francis Picabia
€ 10.00
David Salle Paris Opera Paintings

David Salle

Paris Opera Paintings
2004
David Salle: Paris Opera Paintings
€ 15.00
How To See

How To See

2016
Out of print

News and Press

News and Press

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image