沃尔夫冈·莱布 沃尔夫冈·莱布

沃尔夫冈·莱布

德国
生于1950年
/

Overview

"越把事情复杂化,只會讓你失去更多。在捨棄的过程中,你反而會收穫更多。"

沃尔夫冈·莱布(Wolfgang Laib)创作的雕塑和装置作品,仿似连接过去现在、瞬间与永恒。他采用了简单而极富象征意义的天然材料,这些材料通常与粮食有关,如花粉、牛奶、蜂蜡和大米。他以具仪式感的方式展示少量元素,过程中遵循一套严谨的概念与设置方式。仪式在简省的过程中起了关键作用,并促成了他的极简美学。每年春夏之际,他都会从家乡(德国黑森林的一个偏远地区)四周的田地收集花粉,并将这些辛苦收集的材料展示于透明玻璃罐里,或直接撒在地板上,创造出大片壮观的色彩。

莱布年轻时曾经和家人到印度和东南亚地区旅游,这些经历也与他的作品息息相关。在40年的创作生涯中,他对作品延续性的关注,更甚于创新或形式上的发展。他遵循许多东方哲学的核心思考模式,视自己为 “普世” (universality)和 “永恒” (timelessness)等意念的载体,早已存在于自然之中。正如艺术家形容:「花粉隐喻起源和创造;米丘和蜂蜡制的金字形神塔(Ziggurat)(金字塔和台阶)令人联想粮食和天地间的联系;最后,火焰隐喻世界的毁灭与重生的可能,物质蜕变形成新的周期,进入变幻的状态。」在这些基本思想引领下,他的作品让观众沉思,甚至冥想。

 

沃尔夫冈·莱布(Wolfgang Laib)创作的雕塑和装置作品,仿似连接过去现在、瞬间与永恒。他采用了简单而极富象征意义的天然材料,这些材料通常与粮食有关,如花粉、牛奶、蜂蜡和大米。他以具仪式感的方式展示少量元素,过程中遵循一套严谨的概念与设置方式。仪式在简省的过程中起了关键作用,并促成了他的极简美学。每年春夏之际,他都会从家乡(德国黑森林的一个偏远地区)四周的田地收集花粉,并将这些辛苦收集的材料展示于透明玻璃罐里,或直接撒在地板上,创造出大片壮观的色彩。

莱布年轻时曾经和家人到印度和东南亚地区旅游,这些经历也与他的作品息息相关。在40年的创作生涯中,他对作品延续性的关注,更甚于创新或形式上的发展。他遵循许多东方哲学的核心思考模式,视自己为 “普世” (universality)和 “永恒” (timelessness)等意念的载体,早已存在于自然之中。正如艺术家形容:「花粉隐喻起源和创造;米丘和蜂蜡制的金字形神塔(Ziggurat)(金字塔和台阶)令人联想粮食和天地间的联系;最后,火焰隐喻世界的毁灭与重生的可能,物质蜕变形成新的周期,进入变幻的状态。」在这些基本思想引领下,他的作品让观众沉思,甚至冥想。

莱布生于德国麦琴根,在成为艺术家前,曾于1968-74年在蒂宾根大学(University of Tübingen)修读医学。他的作品于1982年及1987年的卡塞尔文献展(documenta)上展出,而首个大型机构展览则于1986年巴黎现代艺术博物馆(Musée d'art moderne de la ville de Paris)举行。随后,他多次举办重要个展,最为瞩目的包括美国华盛顿特区赫尚博物馆和雕塑园(Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Washington, D.C.)(2002年)、达拉斯艺术博物馆(Dallas Museum of Art)(2002年)、慕尼黑艺术之家(Haus der Kunst, Munich)(2002-03年)、巴塞尔贝耶勒基金会美术馆(Fondation Beyeler, Basel )(2005-06年)、意大利都灵梅尔兹基金会(Fondazione Merz, Turin, Italy)(2009年)和法兰克福现代艺术博物馆(MMK Museum für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt)(2010年)。 2013年,他至今最大型的花粉作品在纽约现代艺术博物馆(The Museum of Modern Art, New York)的中庭展出。同年,他首个蜂蜡室的常设装置作品在华盛顿菲利普美术馆(The Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C.)开幕。 2015年,他在东京获授予高松宫殿下纪念世界文化奖(Praemium Imperiale)。 2017年,他的作品展于缅甸仰光秘书处大楼(Secretariat in Yangon, Myanmar)展出,并于瑞士卢加诺瑞意美术馆(Museo d'arte della Svizzera italiana, Lugano, Switzerland)举办回顾展。

 

视频

Play
Pause
Wolfgang Laib The Beginning of Something Else
The Beginning of Something Else

展览

出版

Fuentes Group Show

Fuentes

Group Show
2009
Fuentes: Group Show
€ 15.00
Ensemble Moderne - The Still Life Group Show

Ensemble Moderne - The Still Life

Group Show
1998
Ensemble Moderne - The Still Life: Group Show
€ 35.00
German Art

German Art

1994
Out of print

新闻和媒体

新闻和媒体

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image

Wolfgang Laib Wolfgang Laib

Wolfgang Laib

German
b. 1950
/

Overview

'The more you complicate things, the more you lose. In renouncing you achieve more.'

Wolfgang Laib creates sculptures and installations that seem to connect past and present, the ephemeral and the eternal. He employs simple, yet highly symbolic, organic materials that are usually associated with sustenance, such as pollen, milk, beeswax and rice. He arranges a limited number of elements in a formal way, following a rigorous process of conception and installation. Ritual plays a central role in the process of reduction and contributes to his spare aesthetic. Each year, during the spring and summer months, he collects pollen from the fields surrounding his home in a remote region of Germany's Black Forest, displaying this laboriously gathered material in simple glass jars or sifting it directly onto the floor to create large fields of spectacular colour. 

Laib's work is profoundly connected to his experiences in India and Southeast Asia, regions that he first visited on family trips as a young teenager. Over his 40-year career, he has always been less concerned with innovation or formal development than with continuity. Following a mode of thinking central to many Eastern philosophies, he considers himself a vehicle for ideas of universality and timelessness already present in nature. As the artist describes: 'The pollen recalls the beginning and creation; the rice mountains and the beeswax Ziggurat (pyramid and steps) nourishment and the bond of the sky with the earth; in the end, fire recalls destruction and the possible renewal of the world, the transformation of what is physical to a new cycle, to a state of change.' Channelling these principles, his works invite a contemplative, even meditative, engagement from the viewer. 

Wolfgang Laib creates sculptures and installations that seem to connect past and present, the ephemeral and the eternal. He employs simple, yet highly symbolic, organic materials that are usually associated with sustenance, such as pollen, milk, beeswax and rice. He arranges a limited number of elements in a formal way, following a rigorous process of conception and installation. Ritual plays a central role in the process of reduction and contributes to his spare aesthetic. Each year, during the spring and summer months, he collects pollen from the fields surrounding his home in a remote region of Germany's Black Forest, displaying this laboriously gathered material in simple glass jars or sifting it directly onto the floor to create large fields of spectacular colour. 

Laib's work is profoundly connected to his experiences in India and Southeast Asia, regions that he first visited on family trips as a young teenager. Over his 40-year career, he has always been less concerned with innovation or formal development than with continuity. Following a mode of thinking central to many Eastern philosophies, he considers himself a vehicle for ideas of universality and timelessness already present in nature. As the artist describes: 'The pollen recalls the beginning and creation; the rice mountains and the beeswax Ziggurat (pyramid and steps) nourishment and the bond of the sky with the earth; in the end, fire recalls destruction and the possible renewal of the world, the transformation of what is physical to a new cycle, to a state of change.' Channelling these principles, his works invite a contemplative, even meditative, engagement from the viewer. 

Born in Metzingen, Germany, Laib studied medicine at the University of Tübingen from 1968–74 before becoming an artist. His work was presented at documenta in 1982 and 1987, and his first major institutional exhibition was held at the Musée d'art moderne de la ville de Paris in 1986. He has subsequently been the subject of numerous solo exhibitions, notably at the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Washington, D.C. (2002); Dallas Museum of Art (2002); Haus der Kunst, Munich (2002–03); Fondation Beyeler, Basel (2005–06); Fondazione Merz, Turin, Italy (2009); and MMK Museum für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt (2010). His largest pollen piece to date was installed in the atrium of The Museum of Modern Art, New York in 2013. The same year, the artist's first permanent installation of a beeswax room opened at The Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C. In 2015, he was awarded the Praemium Imperiale in Tokyo. In 2017, an exhibition of his work was shown at the Secretariat in Yangon, Myanmar and a survey show was organised by the Museo d'arte della Svizzera italiana, Lugano, Switzerland.

Videos

Play
Pause
Wolfgang Laib The Beginning of Something Else
The Beginning of Something Else

Publications

Fuentes Group Show

Fuentes

Group Show
2009
Fuentes: Group Show
€ 15.00
Ensemble Moderne - The Still Life Group Show

Ensemble Moderne - The Still Life

Group Show
1998
Ensemble Moderne - The Still Life: Group Show
€ 35.00
German Art

German Art

1994
Out of print

News and Press

News and Press

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image