奥利弗·比尔 奥利弗·比尔

奥利弗·比尔

英国
生于1985年
/

Overview

“声音是一种雕塑形式存在,完全取决于形式、时间、几何和空间。如果你从声音的角度观看物体,它们可以开始揭示我们纯粹从视觉上观察时不会察觉的东西。”

奥利弗·比尔(Oliver Beer)曾经接受作曲训练,其后进入牛津大学罗斯金艺术学院(Ruskin School of Art, University of Oxford)和巴黎索邦大学(Sorbonne, Paris)选修电影理论。他的音乐背景见于他的现场表演、电影、装置和雕塑中,作品往往揭示了容器、身体和建筑环境的隐藏声音特性。艺术家的家庭关系亦启发他创作出多学科作品,作品既涉及个人,同时也是普遍关注的问题,如个人物件中包含的声音和记忆。比尔亦探索了音乐在团结人心方面的潜力,因为音乐可以跨越历史、世代和文化,体现在物体和空间中,产生共鸣。

在比尔正在进行的《共振计画》(The Resonance Project)(2007年)中,声乐表演刺激了悉尼歌剧院、巴黎的东京宫、伊斯坦布尔的土耳其浴室及布莱顿的下水道等建筑物内的自然谐波。这名艺术家形容: “在适当的频率下,房间会吸收歌手声音的能量── 因此歌手可以低吟出一个音符,而房间的共振会淹没他们的声音,成为他们身体的延伸。你无法在不建造任何音符的情况下建造空间。” 他在《容器乐团》(2019年)等作品中应用了类似的原则,该作品利用了大都会艺术博物馆(The Metropolitan Museum of Art)收藏的空心物件进行创作。这些物品因其天然的音调而被挑选,并组装成一种特殊的乐器,也为博物馆藏品组成了一幅有声音的肖像。

 

奥利弗·比尔(Oliver Beer)曾经接受作曲训练,其后进入牛津大学罗斯金艺术学院(Ruskin School of Art, University of Oxford)和巴黎索邦大学(Sorbonne, Paris)选修电影理论。他的音乐背景见于他的现场表演、电影、装置和雕塑中,作品往往揭示了容器、身体和建筑环境的隐藏声音特性。艺术家的家庭关系亦启发他创作出多学科作品,作品既涉及个人,同时也是普遍关注的问题,如个人物件中包含的声音和记忆。比尔亦探索了音乐在团结人心方面的潜力,因为音乐可以跨越历史、世代和文化,体现在物体和空间中,产生共鸣。

在比尔正在进行的《共振计画》(The Resonance Project)(2007年)中,声乐表演刺激了悉尼歌剧院、巴黎的东京宫、伊斯坦布尔的土耳其浴室及布莱顿的下水道等建筑物内的自然谐波。这名艺术家形容: “在适当的频率下,房间会吸收歌手声音的能量── 因此歌手可以低吟出一个音符,而房间的共振会淹没他们的声音,成为他们身体的延伸。你无法在不建造任何音符的情况下建造空间。” 他在《容器乐团》(2019年)等作品中应用了类似的原则,该作品利用了大都会艺术博物馆(The Metropolitan Museum of Art)收藏的空心物件进行创作。这些物品因其天然的音调而被挑选,并组装成一种特殊的乐器,也为博物馆藏品组成了一幅有声音的肖像。

在他的雕塑实践中,比尔像做手术一样将个人物品切开,然后用树脂重新组装,创造出 “二维雕塑” (Two-Dimensional Sculptures),剖析物质世界及我们在物质世界上留下的痕迹。这些物件通常包括乐器、传家之宝,像他祖母的珠宝或他祖父收藏的烟斗。使用比尔创作实践中的特有技术,他将三维空间转化为二维空间,创造出一种 “有形立体派” (physical cubism),同时感知多个不同视角。艺术家指出,声音可以直线直接穿过物质,就好比超声波扫描,而非像光停留在物质表面,所以这些作品让我们超越表面,感知世界。

比尔在伦敦和巴黎生活和工作,于2013年加入本画廊。在里昂双年展展出当年,他为画廊的Pantin空间创作了一个《共振计画》作品。他的作品已经多次在不同个展和联展中亮相,特别是在纽约的大都会艺术博物馆布劳耶分馆(Met Breuer)和纽约现代美术馆分馆(MoMA PS1)、巴黎的蓬皮杜艺术中心(Centre Pompidou)、路易威登基金会(Fondation Louis Vuitton)、东京宫(Palais de Tokyo)和凡尔赛宫(Palace of Versailles)、里昂现代艺术博物馆(the Musée d'Art Contemporain, Lyon)、伯明翰的圣像画廊(Ikon Gallery)、布鲁塞尔的WIELS、悉尼及伊斯坦布尔双年展。该艺术家还在东京宫、水磨中心(The Watermill Center)、悉尼歌剧院(Sydney Opera House)和爱马仕企业基金会(Fondation d'entreprise Hermès)驻留。

 

视频

Play
Pause
Oliver Beer Resonance Paintings – Two Notes
Resonance Paintings – Two Notes
Play
Pause
Oliver Beer Oma
Oma
Play
Pause
Tea with Julia Oliver Beer
Oliver Beer
Play
Pause
Oliver Beer New Performance and Sculpture
New Performance and Sculpture
Play
Pause
Oliver Beer Diabolus in Musica
Diabolus in Musica

作品

出版

Oliver Beer Resonance Paintings

Oliver Beer

Resonance Paintings
2022
Oliver Beer: Resonance Paintings
€ 35.00
Oliver Beer Diabolus in Musica / Rabbit Hole

Oliver Beer

Diabolus in Musica / Rabbit Hole
2014
Oliver Beer: Diabolus in Musica / Rabbit Hole
€ 25.00
Oliver Beer Composition for London

Oliver Beer

Composition for London
2017
Oliver Beer: Composition for London
€ 30.00

新闻和媒体

新闻和媒体

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image

Oliver Beer Oliver Beer

Oliver Beer

British
b. 1985
/

Overview

'Sound is a sculptural presence which is entirely contingent on form, time, geometry and space. If you look at objects from an acoustic perspective, they can start to reveal things that we wouldn’t have realised had we been observing them purely visually.'

Oliver Beer trained in musical composition before attending the Ruskin School of Art, University of Oxford, and studying cinematic theory at the Sorbonne, Paris. This musical background is reflected in his live performances, films, installations and sculptures, which reveal the hidden acoustic properties of vessels, bodies, and architectural environments. The artist's familial relationships often inform multi-disciplinary works that engage with intimate yet universal concerns, such as the sounds and memories contained within personal possessions. Beer explores the unifying potential of music that resonates across history, generations and cultures, as embodied in objects and spaces.

In Beer's ongoing The Resonance Project (2007– ), vocal performances stimulate the natural harmonics inside buildings, ranging from the Sydney Opera House and Palais de Tokyo in Paris to a hammam in Istanbul and the Brighton sewers. According to the artist: 'At the right frequency, a room will take on the energy of a singer's voice – so much so that a singer can whisper a note and the room will completely eclipse their vocal presence with its resonance and become an extension of their body. You can't build a space without building a musical note.' He has applied similar principles in works such as Vessel Orchestra (2019), created using hollow objects from The Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. These were selected for their natural pitches and assembled to create an idiosyncratic musical instrument that also forms an audible portrait of the museum collection.

Oliver Beer trained in musical composition before attending the Ruskin School of Art, University of Oxford, and studying cinematic theory at the Sorbonne, Paris. This musical background is reflected in his live performances, films, installations and sculptures, which reveal the hidden acoustic properties of vessels, bodies, and architectural environments. The artist's familial relationships often inform multi-disciplinary works that engage with intimate yet universal concerns, such as the sounds and memories contained within personal possessions. Beer explores the unifying potential of music that resonates across history, generations and cultures, as embodied in objects and spaces.

In Beer's ongoing The Resonance Project (2007– ), vocal performances stimulate the natural harmonics inside buildings, ranging from the Sydney Opera House and Palais de Tokyo in Paris to a hammam in Istanbul and the Brighton sewers. According to the artist: 'At the right frequency, a room will take on the energy of a singer's voice – so much so that a singer can whisper a note and the room will completely eclipse their vocal presence with its resonance and become an extension of their body. You can't build a space without building a musical note.' He has applied similar principles in works such as Vessel Orchestra (2019), created using hollow objects from The Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. These were selected for their natural pitches and assembled to create an idiosyncratic musical instrument that also forms an audible portrait of the museum collection.

In his sculptural practice, Beer surgically slices and then reassembles personal possessions in resin to create 'Two-Dimensional Sculptures', dissecting the material world and the traces we leave on it. These items often include musical instruments, as well as family heirlooms such as his grandmother's jewellery or pipes from his grandfather's collection. Using a technique unique to Beer's practice, he transforms three dimensions into two, creating a 'physical cubism' in which multiple perspectives can be simultaneously perceived. The artist notes that sound travels in straight lines directly through matter – as in ultrasound imaging – not stopping at the surface as light does, so these works allow us to perceive the world beyond its surface.

Beer, who lives and works in London and Paris, joined the gallery in 2013. Following his presentation at the Lyon Biennale that year, he developed a Resonance Project piece for the gallery's Pantin space. His work has been the subject of many solo and group exhibitions, notably at the Met Breuer and MoMA PS1 in New York; Centre Pompidou, Fondation Louis Vuitton, Palais de Tokyo and Palace of Versailles in Paris; the Musée d'Art Contemporain, Lyon; Ikon Gallery, Birmingham; WIELS, Brussels and the Sydney and Istanbul biennials. The artist has also held residencies at the Palais de Tokyo, the Watermill Centre, Sydney Opera House and Fondation d'entreprise Hermès.

Videos

Play
Pause
Oliver Beer; Oma at Thaddaeus Ropac London Ely House (2020)

Oliver Beer

Oma
Play
Pause
Oliver Beer New Performance and Sculpture

Oliver Beer

New Performance and Sculpture
Play
Pause
Oliver Beer Diabolus in Musica

Oliver Beer

Diabolus in Musica
Play
Pause
Tea with Julia featuring British artist, Oliver Beer (2020); Thaddaeus Ropac

Tea with Julia

Oliver Beer

Artworks

Publications

Oliver Beer Diabolus in Musica / Rabbit Hole

Oliver Beer

Diabolus in Musica / Rabbit Hole
2014
Oliver Beer: Diabolus in Musica / Rabbit Hole
€ 25.00
Oliver Beer Composition for London

Oliver Beer

Composition for London
2017
Oliver Beer: Composition for London
€ 30.00

News and Press

News and Press

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image