亚历克斯·卡茨 亚历克斯·卡茨

亚历克斯·卡茨

美國
生于1927年
/

Overview

“现实容易受时尚影响,你得到的东西没有过去式,没有未来式,只有当下。我想将当下画下来[......] 即时的存在。那就是意识了。”

 

于1950年代,亚历克斯·卡茨(Alex Katz)在纽约展开艺术创作生涯,当时正值抽象表现主义(Abstract Expressionism)的高峰期,他却发展出独特的当代表现主义绘画方式。自1954年首次举办展览,这七十年间他创作了大量享负盛名的作品,创作媒介包括绘画、素描、雕塑及版画。作为一名以现代生活为题材的优秀画家,他从电影、广告、音乐、诗歌以及他身边的朋友、家庭圈子中汲取灵感。他的作品源于生活,透过精心构思的笔触及扁平的单色,表达线条和形状。他推崇亨利·马谛斯(Henri Matisse)的色彩感、构图及简约手法,一如他对美国风俗传统的兴趣,在作品中显然易见。

 

卡茨最广为人知的作品,是由简化的人物和单色背景组成的大型绘画,省去所有背景脉络。在六十年间,艺术家的妻子艾达(Ada)一直是他作品中其中一个最常见的创作主题,自1958年结婚以来,她出现在无数的画作中。于1960年,他开始与著名的编舞家及舞蹈家保罗·泰勒(Paul Taylor)合作,为他的舞蹈团设计服装和布景。除了这些舞台作品,这次合作还激发了卡茨对表现动感的兴趣,亦是他其后描绘模特儿和舞者等作品背后深入探索的主题。

 

1960年代至1970年代期间,卡茨开始涉猎更大型的画布,并创作了为数不少的多联画,经常将人物的轮廓和脸部戏剧性地剪裁出来。在这段时期,电视对他的创作影响深远,特别是规模庞大的电影屏幕。于1980年代末至1990年代,他集中关注大型风景画上,他将这些画称为 “环境”(environmental)。卡茨是土生土长的纽约人,他会在缅因州林肯维尔(Lincolnville, Maine)度过夏天,并记录了他夏日的家园以及周围的乡村美景。

 

1990年代至2000年代,卡茨的作品开始出现光线穿越树枝时衍生的不同变化。在千禧年代初期,他开始绘画大量花朵,它们布满画布,这亦是他于1960年代末曾探索的主题,当时他画的是单朵花或小花簇的特写。于2010年代,他开始以多角度近距离的切割手法绘画同一主题,排列于画布上,犹如电影胶片一样,综合多个角度,為环境创作肖像(environmental portrait)。

 

于1950年代,亚历克斯·卡茨(Alex Katz)在纽约展开艺术创作生涯,当时正值抽象表现主义(Abstract Expressionism)的高峰期,他却发展出独特的当代表现主义绘画方式。自1954年首次举办展览,这七十年间他创作了大量享负盛名的作品,创作媒介包括绘画、素描、雕塑及版画。作为一名以现代生活为题材的优秀画家,他从电影、广告、音乐、诗歌以及他身边的朋友、家庭圈子中汲取灵感。他的作品源于生活,透过精心构思的笔触及扁平的单色,表达线条和形状。他推崇亨利·马谛斯(Henri Matisse)的色彩感、构图及简约手法,一如他对美国风俗传统的兴趣,在作品中显然易见。

 

卡茨最广为人知的作品,是由简化的人物和单色背景组成的大型绘画,省去所有背景脉络。在六十年间,艺术家的妻子艾达(Ada)一直是他作品中其中一个最常见的创作主题,自1958年结婚以来,她出现在无数的画作中。于1960年,他开始与著名的编舞家及舞蹈家保罗·泰勒(Paul Taylor)合作,为他的舞蹈团设计服装和布景。除了这些舞台作品,这次合作还激发了卡茨对表现动感的兴趣,亦是他其后描绘模特儿和舞者等作品背后深入探索的主题。

 

1960年代至1970年代期间,卡茨开始涉猎更大型的画布,并创作了为数不少的多联画,经常将人物的轮廓和脸部戏剧性地剪裁出来。在这段时期,电视对他的创作影响深远,特别是规模庞大的电影屏幕。于1980年代末至1990年代,他集中关注大型风景画上,他将这些画称为 “环境”(environmental)。卡茨是土生土长的纽约人,他会在缅因州林肯维尔(Lincolnville, Maine)度过夏天,并记录了他夏日的家园以及周围的乡村美景。

 

1990年代至2000年代,卡茨的作品开始出现光线穿越树枝时衍生的不同变化。在千禧年代初期,他开始绘画大量花朵,它们布满画布,这亦是他于1960年代末曾探索的主题,当时他画的是单朵花或小花簇的特写。于2010年代,他开始以多角度近距离的切割手法绘画同一主题,排列于画布上,犹如电影胶片一样,综合多个角度,為环境创作肖像(environmental portrait)。

 

卡茨生于布鲁克林,在纽约生活和工作。他就读纽约柯柏联盟艺术学院(Cooper Union School of Art in New York)以及缅因州斯科赫根绘画和雕塑学院(Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture in Maine)。在他的创作生涯中,创造了许多公共艺术项目,其中包括时代广场(Times Square)的广告牌(1977年)、哈林站(Harlem Station)的铝制壁画(1984年),以及近期为纽约地铁创作的19件大型玻璃艺术装置。他的作品享誉国际,于多个大型艺术机构举办超过200个个展,包括纽约惠特尼美国艺术博物馆(Whitney Museum of American Art, New York)(1974年,1986年,2002年)、伦敦当代艺术学院(Institute of Contemporary Arts, London)(1990年)、巴尔的摩艺术博物馆(Baltimore Museum of Art)(1996年)、都柏林爱尔兰现代艺术博物馆(Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin)(2007年)、芬兰坦佩雷萨拉·希尔登艺术博物馆(Sara Hildén Art Museum, Tampere, Finland)(2009年)、伦敦国家肖像馆(National Portrait Gallery, London)(2010年)、维也纳阿尔贝蒂娜博物馆(Albertina, Vienna)(2014年)、纽约大都会艺术博物馆(The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York)(2015年)、伦敦蛇形艺廊(Serpentine Galleries, London)(2016年)、泰特利物浦(Tate Liverpool)(2018年)、巴黎橘园美术馆(Musée de l'Orangerie, Paris)(2019年)及马德里提森-博内米萨博物馆(Museo Nacional Thyssen-Bornemisza, Madrid)(2020年),随后于纽约索罗门·古根汉美术馆(Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York)(2022年)举办大型回顾展。

 

视频

Play
Pause
Alex Katz Mondes flottants Floating Worlds curated by Éric de Chassey
Mondes flottants
Floating Worlds
curated by Éric de Chassey
Play
Pause
Alex Katz Red Dancers
Red Dancers
Play
Pause
Alex Katz 45 Years of Portraits 1969 – 2014
45 Years of Portraits 1969 – 2014
Play
Pause
Alex Katz Face The Music
Face The Music
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Space Age
Space Age
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Home (Very) Sweet Home
Home (Very) Sweet Home
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition 30 JAHRE / 30 YEARS
30 JAHRE / 30 YEARS

展览

出版

Alex Katz Flowers

Alex Katz
Flowers

2021

出版

Alex Katz Flowers

Alex Katz

Flowers
2021
Alex Katz: Flowers
€ 35.00
Alex Katz Mondes flottants

Alex Katz

Mondes flottants
2021
Alex Katz: Mondes flottants
€ 45.00
Alex Katz Fashion

Alex Katz

Fashion
2009
Alex Katz: Fashion
€ 20.00
Alex Katz Drawings

Alex Katz

Drawings
2007
Alex Katz: Drawings
€ 15.00
Alex Katz New Faces 2006

Alex Katz

New Faces 2006
2006
Alex Katz: New Faces 2006
€ 10.00
Alex Katz Penobscot Bay

Alex Katz

Penobscot Bay
2003
Alex Katz: Penobscot Bay
€ 10.00

新闻和媒体

新闻和媒体

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image

Alex Katz Alex Katz

Alex Katz

American
b. 1927
/

Overview

'Reality is subject to fashion and so you get something where there's no past tense, there's no future tense, there's only now. I want to paint the now [...] the immediate present. And that's what consciousness is.'

Coming of age as an artist in 1950s New York, Alex Katz developed his unique approach to contemporary representational painting at the height of Abstract Expressionism. Over the seven decades since his first exhibition in 1954, he has produced a celebrated body of work, including paintings, drawings, sculpture and prints. A pre-eminent painter of modern life, he draws inspiration from films, billboard advertising, music, poetry and his close circle of friends and family. Primarily working from life, he produces images in which line and form are expressed through carefully composed strokes and planes of flat colour. His great admiration for Henri Matisse's sense of colour, composition and economy of means is evident in Katz's work, as is his interest in the American vernacular tradition.

Katz's most recognisable works are large-scale canvases populated by simplified figures set against a monochrome background that minimises any sense of context. Ada, the artist's wife for over 60 years, is a frequent subject in his work, appearing in innumerable paintings since they married in 1958. He began collaborating with famed choreographer and dancer Paul Taylor in 1960, creating costumes and set designs for his dance company. Beyond this work for the stage, the collaboration sparked Katz's interest in the representation of motion, a theme he has continued to explore in his depictions of models and dancers. 

Coming of age as an artist in 1950s New York, Alex Katz developed his unique approach to contemporary representational painting at the height of Abstract Expressionism. Over the seven decades since his first exhibition in 1954, he has produced a celebrated body of work, including paintings, drawings, sculpture and prints. A pre-eminent painter of modern life, he draws inspiration from films, billboard advertising, music, poetry and his close circle of friends and family. Primarily working from life, he produces images in which line and form are expressed through carefully composed strokes and planes of flat colour. His great admiration for Henri Matisse's sense of colour, composition and economy of means is evident in Katz's work, as is his interest in the American vernacular tradition.

Katz's most recognisable works are large-scale canvases populated by simplified figures set against a monochrome background that minimises any sense of context. Ada, the artist's wife for over 60 years, is a frequent subject in his work, appearing in innumerable paintings since they married in 1958. He began collaborating with famed choreographer and dancer Paul Taylor in 1960, creating costumes and set designs for his dance company. Beyond this work for the stage, the collaboration sparked Katz's interest in the representation of motion, a theme he has continued to explore in his depictions of models and dancers.  

Throughout the 1960s and 1970s, Katz's canvases increased in size and he created a number of multi-panel paintings, often with dramatically cropped figures and faces. He was greatly influenced by television in this period, particularly the monumental scale of the cinema screen. Through the late 1980s and 1990s, he focused much of his attention on large-scale landscape paintings, which he characterises as 'environmental'. A born and bred New Yorker, Katz spends his summers in Lincolnville, Maine and has captured his summer home and its surroundings in all their rural splendour. 

Variations on the theme of light falling through branches appeared in Katz's work throughout the 1990s and 2000s. At the beginning of the new millennium, he also began painting a profusion of flowers, covering canvases in blossoms, a subject he had first explored in the late 1960s, when he painted close-ups of single flowers or small clusters. In the 2010s, he began using multiple tightly cropped images of the same subject sequenced across the canvas as if in a strip of film, combining a variety of angles to create the impression of an environmental portrait.

Born in Brooklyn, Katz lives and works in New York. He studied at the Cooper Union School of Art in New York and the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture in Maine. He has created numerous public art projects throughout his career, including a Times Square billboard (1977), an aluminium mural for Harlem Station (1984), and a recent installation of 19 large-scale works on glass for the New York subway. His work has been the subject of over 200 solo exhibitions internationally, including at the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York (1974, 1986, 2002); Institute of Contemporary Arts, London (1990); Baltimore Museum of Art (1996); Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin (2007); Sara Hildén Art Museum, Tampere, Finland (2009); National Portrait Gallery, London (2010); Albertina, Vienna (2014); The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York (2015); Serpentine Galleries, London (2016); Tate Liverpool (2018); Musée de l'Orangerie, Paris (2019); and Museo Nacional Thyssen-Bornemisza, Madrid (2020), followed by a career retrospective at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York in 2022.

Videos

Play
Pause
Alex Katz Red Dancers

Alex Katz

Red Dancers
Play
Pause
Alex Katz 45 Years of Portraits 1969 – 2014

Alex Katz

45 Years of Portraits 1969 – 2014
Play
Pause
Alex Katz Face The Music

Alex Katz

Face The Music
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Space Age

Group Exhibition

Space Age
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition Home (Very) Sweet Home

Group Exhibition

Home (Very) Sweet Home
Play
Pause
Group Exhibition 30 JAHRE / 30 YEARS

Group Exhibition

30 JAHRE / 30 YEARS

Exhibitions

Publications

Alex Katz 45 Years of Portraits
Alex Katz 45 Years of Portraits
Alex Katz 45 Years of Portraits

Alex Katz
45 Years of Portraits

2014

Publications

Alex Katz 45 Years of Portraits

Alex Katz

45 Years of Portraits
2014
Alex Katz: 45 Years of Portraits
€ 42.00
Alex Katz Face The Music

Alex Katz

Face The Music
2011
Alex Katz: Face The Music
€ 20.00
Alex Katz Fashion

Alex Katz

Fashion
2009
Alex Katz: Fashion
€ 20.00
Alex Katz Drawings

Alex Katz

Drawings
2007
Alex Katz: Drawings
€ 15.00
Alex Katz New Faces 2006

Alex Katz

New Faces 2006
2006
Alex Katz: New Faces 2006
€ 10.00
Alex Katz Cartoons and Paintings

Alex Katz

Cartoons and Paintings
2004
Alex Katz: Cartoons and Paintings
€ 25.00
Alex Katz Penobscot Bay

Alex Katz

Penobscot Bay
2003
Alex Katz: Penobscot Bay
€ 10.00
Alex Katz Beach scenes and Landscapes

Alex Katz

Beach scenes and Landscapes
2002
Alex Katz: Beach scenes and Landscapes
€ 10.00

News and Press

News and Press

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image