瑞秋·瓊斯 瑞秋·瓊斯

瑞秋·瓊斯

英國
生于1991年
/

Overview

“我试图用颜色描述黑人身体。我希望將所有自我表达的欲望,转化成存在于文字以外的语言,讓你用眼睛觀察和感受。”

瑞秋·瓊斯(Rachel Jones)拓展出一种极度个人的抽象手法,她首先围绕个人身份,繼而探討历史上的黑人身体在社会中如何被解读。瓊斯画作的靈感來源,來自她对十八世纪至今的艺术中黑人形象的研究 ── 他们如何被理解及在文化上被再現,以及这些描繪對瓦解现有权力结构的潜在作用。在她的作品中,人物明显是抽象的,因为艺术家对 “使用花紋及颜色作为思想交流的方式,從而传达黑人身体的内在世界及他们的生活经验” 深感兴趣。

在她的绘画中,瓊斯致力寻找视觉手段,传达抽象和存在的概念。她利用抽象的方式来表达无形事物,以描绘存在的心理真相及所产生的情感。艺术家在她的系列作品中重复使用花紋和符号,在它们之间创造聯繫、甚至是家族性,强调它们的密切关系,作为她長期研究身份的一部分。在近作中,琼斯運用嘴巴和牙齿的意象,象征进入内在和自我的入口。这些口腔形態从觀者视线中時而出現,時而消失,暗示了一个生动的内部景观。

 

瑞秋·瓊斯(Rachel Jones)拓展出一种极度个人的抽象手法,她首先围绕个人身份,繼而探討历史上的黑人身体在社会中如何被解读。瓊斯画作的靈感來源,來自她对十八世纪至今的艺术中黑人形象的研究 ── 他们如何被理解及在文化上被再現,以及这些描繪對瓦解现有权力结构的潜在作用。在她的作品中,人物明显是抽象的,因为艺术家对 “使用花紋及颜色作为思想交流的方式,從而传达黑人身体的内在世界及他们的生活经验” 深感兴趣。

在她的绘画中,瓊斯致力寻找视觉手段,传达抽象和存在的概念。她利用抽象的方式来表达无形事物,以描绘存在的心理真相及所产生的情感。艺术家在她的系列作品中重复使用花紋和符号,在它们之间创造聯繫、甚至是家族性,强调它们的密切关系,作为她長期研究身份的一部分。在近作中,琼斯運用嘴巴和牙齿的意象,象征进入内在和自我的入口。这些口腔形態从觀者视线中時而出現,時而消失,暗示了一个生动的内部景观。

瓊斯专注于传达视觉、身体、感官及发自內心的体验,作为對自我的感知。艺术家以万花筒般的调色板、大胆地運用圖案和质感,在绘画中创造张力或冲突。她将自己的作品描述为 “色彩的注释”(exegesis of colour),以火热的红色、肉质的粉红色及酸性的黄色为主,抗衡冷色调的蓝色和绿色。她对文化身份和自我意识的批判眼光,也应用于绘画语言本身,作品重新思考了传统與当代的色彩與形式。

瓊斯加入画廊时,作品於茱莉亞·佩頓-瓊斯(Julia Peyton-Jones)策划的群展《聚焦绘画》(A Focus on Painting)(2020年)中展出。2019年,她于伦敦皇家藝術學院(Royal Academy Schools, London)完成硕士学位。同年,她的作品与基利恩·艾雷斯(Gillian Ayres)及松永直(Nao Matsunaga)在索尔兹伯里新艺术中心(New Art Centre, Salisbury)展出,并在德克薩斯馬爾法辛那提基金會(The Chinati Foundation, Marfa, Texas)成為駐場藝術家及举办个展。她的作品在伦敦皇家艺术学院(Royal Academy of Arts, London)(2019年及2018年)、伦敦弗莱明收藏馆(Fleming Collection, London)(2014年)以及爱丁堡蘇格蘭皇家學院(Royal Scottish Academy, Edinburgh)(2014年)展出。于2019年,获安德烈·杜諾耶·德·塞貢扎克荣誉RA奖(André Dunoyer de Segonzac Hon RA Prize),2018年获馬欽基金会绘画奖(Machin Foundation Painting Prize),并于2016年成為百慕大艺术大师作品博物馆(Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art)的驻场藝術家

 

视频

Play
Pause
Rachel Jones SMIIILLLLEEEE
SMIIILLLLEEEE
Play
Pause
Saturation Saturation: Han Bing · Wook-Kyung Choi · Mandy El-Sayegh · Martha Jungwirth · Rachel Jones · Dona Nelson ·...
Saturation: Han Bing · Wook-Kyung Choi · Mandy El-Sayegh · Martha Jungwirth · Rachel Jones · Dona Nelson · Megan Rooney · Thu-Van Tran
Play
Pause
A Focus on Painting with Katy Hessel
with Katy Hessel
Play
Pause
Frieze Talk | Painting Today Alvaro Barrington, Mandy El-Sayegh, Rachel Jones and Dona Nelson, chaired by Julia Peyton-Jones
Alvaro Barrington, Mandy El-Sayegh, Rachel Jones and Dona Nelson, chaired by Julia Peyton-Jones

新闻和媒体

新闻和媒体

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image

Rachel Jones Rachel Jones

Rachel Jones

British
b. 1991
/

Overview

'I want to translate all that lust for self-expression into a language that exists outside of words, and instead relates to seeing and feeling with your eyes.'

Working in painting, installation, sound and performance, Rachel Jones explores a sense of self as a visual, visceral experience. In her paintings, she grapples with the challenges of finding visual means to convey abstract, existential concepts. In depicting the psychological truths of being and the emotions these engender, abstraction becomes a way of expressing the intangible. The artist repeats motifs and symbols across her series to create associative, even familial, relationships between them, underscoring their kinship as part of her ongoing investigation of identity.

The figure is notably abstracted in her works, as Jones is interested in 'using motifs and colour as a way to communicate ideas about the interiority of Black bodies and their lived experience'. Abstracted mouths and teeth suggest a symbolic and literal entry point to the interior and the self. Within this vivid inner landscape, oral and, more recently, floral forms emerge and recede from view. Her expressive use of colour becomes a way of provoking or communicating with viewers, who bring their own lived experiences and cultural backgrounds to the interpretation of her works. This sense of community and shared history comes to the fore in her installations and performances, in which imagery, sound and music coalesce in a celebration of Black culture.

Working in painting, installation, sound and performance, Rachel Jones explores a sense of self as a visual, visceral experience. In her paintings, she grapples with the challenges of finding visual means to convey abstract, existential concepts. In depicting the psychological truths of being and the emotions these engender, abstraction becomes a way of expressing the intangible. The artist repeats motifs and symbols across her series to create associative, even familial, relationships between them, underscoring their kinship as part of her ongoing investigation of identity.

The figure is notably abstracted in her works, as Jones is interested in 'using motifs and colour as a way to communicate ideas about the interiority of Black bodies and their lived experience'. Abstracted mouths and teeth suggest a symbolic and literal entry point to the interior and the self. Within this vivid inner landscape, oral and, more recently, floral forms emerge and recede from view. Her expressive use of colour becomes a way of provoking or communicating with viewers, who bring their own lived experiences and cultural backgrounds to the interpretation of her works. This sense of community and shared history comes to the fore in her installations and performances, in which imagery, sound and music coalesce in a celebration of Black culture.

The artist creates a tension or friction in her paintings through the kaleidoscopic palette, boldness of competing forms and interplay of textures. She has described her work as an 'exegesis of colour', dominated by fiery reds, fleshy pinks and acid yellows against the counterbalancing coolness of blues and greens. The same critical eye that she turns upon questions of cultural identity and selfhood is applied to the language of painting itself, in works that reconsider both traditional and contemporary approaches to colour and form.

Jones joined the gallery when her work was included in the group exhibition A Focus on Painting (2020), curated by Julia Peyton-Jones. She completed her BA Fine Art at Glasgow School of Art in 2013 and an MA Fine Art at the Royal Academy Schools, London, in 2019. Her work has been exhibited in the UK at institutions such as the Royal Scottish Academy and in a group exhibition alongside Gillian Ayres and Nao Matsunaga at the New Art Centre, Salisbury (2019). This was followed by her inclusion in Mixing It Up: Painting Today at the Hayward Gallery, London (2021) and a solo exhibition at the Chisenhale Gallery, London (2022). She was an artist in residence at The Chinati Foundation, Marfa, Texas, in 2019 and the Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art in 2016.

Videos

Play
Pause
A Focus on Painting with Katy Hessel
with Katy Hessel
Play
Pause
Frieze Talk | Painting Today Alvaro Barrington, Mandy El-Sayegh, Rachel Jones and Dona Nelson, chaired by Julia Peyton-Jones
Alvaro Barrington, Mandy El-Sayegh, Rachel Jones and Dona Nelson, chaired by Julia Peyton-Jones

News and Press

News and Press

Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image
Atmospheric image Atmospheric image